22-23 School Year Information and COVID Procedures Learn More

Stella High Charter Academy

Discover Our Staff

Discover Our Staff

Alberto
Vera

Teacher

Alberto Vera

Contact

avera@brightstarschools.org

Alberto Vera

Teacher

Contact

avera@brightstarschools.org

Alexis
Carrero

Teacher

Alexis Carrero

Contact

acastellanos@brightstarschools.org

Alexis Carrero

Teacher

Contact

acastellanos@brightstarschools.org

Amanda
Lopez

Campus Aide

Amanda Lopez

Contact

alopez@brightstarschools.org

Amanda Lopez

Campus Aide

Contact

alopez@brightstarschools.org

Andrea
Garcia Chavez

College & Career Counseling Assistant

Andrea Garcia Chavez

Contact

agchavez@brightstarschools.org

Andrea Garcia Chavez

College & Career Counseling Assistant

Contact

agchavez@brightstarschools.org

Andry
Alvarez Castillo

Campus Aide

Andry Alvarez Castillo

Contact

agalvarez@brightstarschools.org

Andry Alvarez Castillo

Campus Aide

Contact

agalvarez@brightstarschools.org

Angelique
Lopez

Teacher

Angelique Lopez

Contact

amlopez@brightstarschools.org

Angelique Lopez

Teacher

Contact

amlopez@brightstarschools.org

Anh
Pham

Teacher

Anh Pham

Contact

apham@brightstarschools.org

Anh Pham

Teacher

Contact

apham@brightstarschools.org

Anita
Pande

Teacher

Anita Pande

Contact

apande@brightstarschools.org

Anita Pande

Teacher

Contact

apande@brightstarschools.org

Bernadette
McComish

Teacher

Bernadette McComish

Contact

bmccomish@brightstarschools.org

Bernadette McComish

Teacher

Contact

bmccomish@brightstarschools.org

Beth
Pollak

Instructional Coach

Beth Pollak

Contact

bpollak@brightstarschools.org

Beth Pollak

Instructional Coach

Contact

bpollak@brightstarschools.org

Bryan
Alfaro

School Data Specialist

Bryan Alfaro

Contact

balfaro@brightstarschools.org

Bryan Alfaro

School Data Specialist

Contact

balfaro@brightstarschools.org

Carla
Chavez

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Carla Chavez

Contact

cchavez@brightstarschools.org

Carla Chavez

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Contact

cchavez@brightstarschools.org

Carlos
Guijarro

Teacher

Carlos Guijarro

Contact

cguijarro@brightstarschools.org

Carlos Guijarro

Teacher

Contact

cguijarro@brightstarschools.org

Chelsea
Dunn

Teacher

Chelsea Dunn

Contact

cdunn@brightstarschools.org

Chelsea Dunn

Teacher

Contact

cdunn@brightstarschools.org

Christie
Romero

Teacher

Christie Romero

Contact

cromero@brightstarschools.org

Christie Romero

Teacher

Contact

cromero@brightstarschools.org

Christopher
Simpson

Teacher

Christopher Simpson

Contact

csimpson@brightstarschools.org

Christopher Simpson

Teacher

Contact

csimpson@brightstarschools.org

Christopher
Soell

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Christopher Soell

Contact

csoell@brightstarschools.org

Christopher Soell

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Contact

csoell@brightstarschools.org

Colleen
Trejo

Assistant Principal

Colleen Trejo

Contact

ctrejo@brightstarschools.org

Colleen Trejo

Assistant Principal

Contact

ctrejo@brightstarschools.org

Cynthia
Ambrosio

Office Assistant

Cynthia Ambrosio

Contact

cambrosio@brightstarschools.org

Cynthia Ambrosio

Office Assistant

Contact

cambrosio@brightstarschools.org

Cynthia
Astorga

Counselor

Cynthia Astorga

Contact

castorga@brightstarschools.org

Cynthia Astorga

Counselor

Contact

castorga@brightstarschools.org

Darryl
Garris

Principal, Stella High Charter Academy

Contact
Darryl Garris

Contact

dgarris@brightstarschools.org

Darryl Garris

Principal, Stella High Charter Academy

Darryl Garris is the principal for Stella High Charter Academy, and he leads the school to ensure all Eagles achieve academic excellence and grow their unique talents so they find joy and fulfillment in higher education, career, and life.

Previously, Darryl served Bright Star Schools as principal of Stella Middle Charter Academy (Grades 5-6) and as assistant principal of Stella Middle Charter Academy. Darryl also taught pre-algebra, algebra readiness, and Algebra 1 at Stella Middle Charter Academy and Bright Star Secondary Charter Academy.

Prior to joining Bright Star Schools, Darryl was a teacher at Dorsey High School as a Teach For America corps member.

Darryl holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from UC Berkeley’s Haas School of Business and a bachelor’s degree in environmental economics from UC Berkeley’s College of Natural Resources. He also holds a master’s degree in urban education, a master’s degree in school administration, and a certificate in charter school leadership from Loyola Marymount University's School of Education.

Contact

dgarris@brightstarschools.org

David
Liebhauser

Teacher

David Liebhauser

Contact

dliebhauser@brightstarschools.org

David Liebhauser

Teacher

Contact

dliebhauser@brightstarschools.org

David
Salinas

Instructional Assistant

David Salinas

Contact

dsalinas@brightstarschools.org

David Salinas

Instructional Assistant

Contact

dsalinas@brightstarschools.org

Emily
Robles

Paraprofessional

Emily Robles

Contact

erobles@brightstarschools.org

Emily Robles

Paraprofessional

Contact

erobles@brightstarschools.org

Erik
Espinoza

Athletic Director/Testing Coordinator

Erik Espinoza

Contact

eespinoza@brightstarschools.org

Erik Espinoza

Athletic Director/Testing Coordinator

Contact

eespinoza@brightstarschools.org

Frank
Amezcua

Teacher

Frank Amezcua

Contact

framezcua@brightstarschools.org

Frank Amezcua

Teacher

Contact

framezcua@brightstarschools.org

Genesis
Peinder

Teacher

Genesis Peinder

Contact

gpeinder@brightstarschools.org

Genesis Peinder

Teacher

Contact

gpeinder@brightstarschools.org

Georgina
Perez

Campus Aide

Georgina Perez

Contact

gperez@brightstarschools.org

Georgina Perez

Campus Aide

Contact

gperez@brightstarschools.org

Gustavo
Herrera

Teacher

Gustavo Herrera

Contact

gherrera@brightstarschools.org

Gustavo Herrera

Teacher

Contact

gherrera@brightstarschools.org

Heidi
Bretado

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Heidi Bretado

Contact

hbretado@brightstarschools.org

Heidi Bretado

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Contact

hbretado@brightstarschools.org

Idalia
Farias Izaguirre

Campus Aide

Idalia Farias Izaguirre

Contact

ifarias@brightstarschools.org

Idalia Farias Izaguirre

Campus Aide

Contact

ifarias@brightstarschools.org

Irving
Oliver

Dean of Operations

Irving Oliver

Contact

doliver@brightstarschools.org

Irving Oliver

Dean of Operations

Contact

doliver@brightstarschools.org

Ivy
Do

Teacher

Ivy Do

Contact

ido@brightstarschools.org

Ivy Do

Teacher

Contact

ido@brightstarschools.org

Jarol
Dubon Argueta

Campus Aide

Jarol Dubon Argueta

Contact

jdubon@brightstarschools.org

Jarol Dubon Argueta

Campus Aide

Contact

jdubon@brightstarschools.org

Javier
Caldera

Teacher

Javier Caldera

Contact

jcaldera@brightstarschools.org

Javier Caldera

Teacher

Contact

jcaldera@brightstarschools.org

Javier
Oliver

Inclusive Education Instructional Assistant

Javier Oliver

Contact

joliver@brightstarschools.org

Javier Oliver

Inclusive Education Instructional Assistant

Contact

joliver@brightstarschools.org

Jennifer
Shetland

Teacher

Jennifer Shetland

Contact

jshetland@brightstarschools.org

Jennifer Shetland

Teacher

Contact

jshetland@brightstarschools.org

Jessica
Fernandez

Teacher

Jessica Fernandez

Contact

jfortiz@brightstarschools.org

Jessica Fernandez

Teacher

Contact

jfortiz@brightstarschools.org

Jessica
Romero

Instructional Assistant

Jessica Romero

Contact

jromero@brightstarschools.org

Jessica Romero

Instructional Assistant

Contact

jromero@brightstarschools.org

Jesus
Ramirez

Assistant Principal

Jesus Ramirez

Contact

jrramirez@brightstarschools.org

Jesus Ramirez

Assistant Principal

Contact

jrramirez@brightstarschools.org

Johanna
Lopez

Office Manager

Johanna Lopez

Contact

jlopez@brightstarschools.org

Johanna Lopez

Office Manager

Contact

jlopez@brightstarschools.org

Johanna
Madrid-Gastelum

Dean of Culture and Restorative Practices

Johanna Madrid-Gastelum

Contact

jmadrid@brightstarschools.org

Johanna Madrid-Gastelum

Dean of Culture and Restorative Practices

Contact

jmadrid@brightstarschools.org

Jonathan
Meneses

Instructional Assistant

Jonathan Meneses

Contact

jmeneses@brightstarschools.org

Jonathan Meneses

Instructional Assistant

Contact

jmeneses@brightstarschools.org

Jose
Cabrera

Instructional Assistant

Jose Cabrera

Contact

jcabrera@brightstarschools.org

Jose Cabrera

Instructional Assistant

Contact

jcabrera@brightstarschools.org

Juana
Garcia

Maintenance

Juana Garcia

Contact

jgarcia@brightstarschools.org

Juana Garcia

Maintenance

Contact

jgarcia@brightstarschools.org

Kestler
Mencos Alonzo

Campus Aide

Kestler Mencos Alonzo

Contact

kmencos@brightstarschools.org

Kestler Mencos Alonzo

Campus Aide

Contact

kmencos@brightstarschools.org

Kimberly
Sanders

Culture and Restorative Practices Specialist

Kimberly Sanders

Contact

ksanders@brightstarschools.org

Kimberly Sanders

Culture and Restorative Practices Specialist

Contact

ksanders@brightstarschools.org

Krystle
Menduke

Dean of Academic Supports

Krystle Menduke

Contact

kmenduke@brightstarschools.org

Krystle Menduke

Dean of Academic Supports

Contact

kmenduke@brightstarschools.org

La Tasha
Poster

Teacher

La Tasha Poster

Contact

lposter@brightstarschools.org

La Tasha Poster

Teacher

Contact

lposter@brightstarschools.org

Liliana
Lopez

Teacher

Liliana Lopez

Contact

llopez@brightstarschools.org

Liliana Lopez

Teacher

Contact

llopez@brightstarschools.org

Luis
Garcia

Maintenance

Luis Garcia

Contact

lgarcia@brightstarschools.rog

Luis Garcia

Maintenance

Contact

lgarcia@brightstarschools.rog

Magaly
Fernandez

Instructional Assistant

Magaly Fernandez

Contact

mafernandez@brightstarschools.org

Magaly Fernandez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

mafernandez@brightstarschools.org

Maigon
Buckner

Assistant Principal of Culture

Maigon Buckner

Contact

mbuckner@brightstarschools.org

Maigon Buckner

Assistant Principal of Culture

Contact

mbuckner@brightstarschools.org

Marvin
Casasola

Campus Aide

Marvin Casasola

Contact

mcasasola@brightstarschools.org

Marvin Casasola

Campus Aide

Contact

mcasasola@brightstarschools.org

Melissa
Gonzalez

Counselor

Melissa Gonzalez

Contact

melgonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Melissa Gonzalez

Counselor

Contact

melgonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Miguel
Fuentes

Instructional Assistant

Miguel Fuentes

Contact

mfuentes@brightstarschools.org

Miguel Fuentes

Instructional Assistant

Contact

mfuentes@brightstarschools.org

Mike
Carrera

Coordinator, Alumni Support and College Success

Contact
Mike Carrera

Contact

mcarrera@brightstarschools.org

Mike Carrera

Coordinator, Alumni Support and College Success

Supporting: SHCA Class of 2017 - 2022

Mike Carrera has worked in education for over seven years, five of which have been at Bright Star Schools. Mike is a first-generation college graduate and earned his Bachelor of Arts degree at the University of California, Riverside in Latin American Studies and History. He also earned his Pupil Personnel Services credential and Master’s in Education degree in 2019 in Education Counseling from the University of La Verne.

Throughout the years, Mike has held various roles at Stella High Charter Academy and has assisted students and families on multiple levels. He is passionate about supporting the student body at SHCA and is a firm believer that higher education can positively shift a student's life and career choices. As the new ASCS Coordinator, Mike is determined to assist all SHCA Alums in navigating higher education and in contributing to students’ success in college and career.

Contact

mcarrera@brightstarschools.org

Monica
Gonzalez

Dean of Student & Family Services

Monica Gonzalez

Contact

magonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Monica Gonzalez

Dean of Student & Family Services

Contact

magonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Oscar
Moreno

Teacher

Oscar Moreno

Contact

omoreno@brightstarschools.org

Oscar Moreno

Teacher

Contact

omoreno@brightstarschools.org

Preeyam
Roy

Teacher

Preeyam Roy

Contact

proy@brightstarschools.org

Preeyam Roy

Teacher

Contact

proy@brightstarschools.org

Ranica
Hortelano

Campus Aide

Ranica Hortelano

Contact

rhortelano@brightstarschools.org

Ranica Hortelano

Campus Aide

Contact

rhortelano@brightstarschools.org

Ricardo
Gomez

Instructional Assistant

Ricardo Gomez

Contact

rgomez@brightstarschools.org

Ricardo Gomez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

rgomez@brightstarschools.org

Rigo
Torres

Lead Campus Aide

Rigo Torres

Contact

rtorres@brightstarschools.org

Rigo Torres

Lead Campus Aide

Contact

rtorres@brightstarschools.org

Said
Cambray

Teacher

Said Cambray

Contact

scambray@brightstarschools.org

Said Cambray

Teacher

Contact

scambray@brightstarschools.org

Samuel
Perez

Attendance Coordinator

Samuel Perez

Contact

sperez@brightstarschools.org

Samuel Perez

Attendance Coordinator

Contact

sperez@brightstarschools.org

Sandra
Nevarez

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Sandra Nevarez

Contact

snevarez@brightstarschools.org

Sandra Nevarez

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

snevarez@brightstarschools.org

Shelby
Goodrich Jr

Teacher

Shelby Goodrich Jr

Contact

sgoodrich@brightstarschools.org

Shelby Goodrich Jr

Teacher

Contact

sgoodrich@brightstarschools.org

Stephanie
Martinez

Instructional Assistant

Stephanie Martinez

Contact

smartinez@brightstarschools.org

Stephanie Martinez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

smartinez@brightstarschools.org

Susan
Wilson

Teacher

Susan Wilson

Contact

swilson@brightstarschools.org

Susan Wilson

Teacher

Contact

swilson@brightstarschools.org

Timothy
Morales

Teacher

Timothy Morales

Contact

tmorales@brightstarschools.org

Timothy Morales

Teacher

Contact

tmorales@brightstarschools.org

Wendy
Pineda

Counselor

Wendy Pineda

Contact

wpineda@brightstarschools.org

Wendy Pineda

Counselor

Contact

wpineda@brightstarschools.org

Join Bright Star Community Today

In our small, joyful schools we provide students with excellent academics, holistic and inclusive support, personal attention, and rich life opportunities beyond the classroom so they thrive from kindergarten through high school.