22-23 School Year Information and COVID Procedures Learn More

Rise Kohyang Middle School

Discover Our Staff

Discover Our Staff

Albert
Beltran

Assistant Principal of Culture

Albert Beltran

Contact

abeltran@brightstarschools.org

Albert Beltran

Assistant Principal of Culture

Contact

abeltran@brightstarschools.org

Andrea
Chicaiza

Teacher

Andrea Chicaiza

Contact

achicaiza@brightstarschools.org

Andrea Chicaiza

Teacher

Contact

achicaiza@brightstarschools.org

Betsy
Diaz

Assistant Principal

Betsy Diaz

Contact

bdiaz@brightstarschools.org

Betsy Diaz

Assistant Principal

Contact

bdiaz@brightstarschools.org

Brady
Pak

Teacher

Brady Pak

Contact

bpak@brightstarschools.org

Brady Pak

Teacher

Contact

bpak@brightstarschools.org

Camryn
Ching

Teacher

Camryn Ching

Contact

cching@brightstarschools.org

Camryn Ching

Teacher

Contact

cching@brightstarschools.org

Carmen
Armenta

Paraprofessional

Carmen Armenta

Contact

carmenta@brightstarschools.org

Carmen Armenta

Paraprofessional

Contact

carmenta@brightstarschools.org

Claire
Kwon

Substitute Teacher

Claire Kwon

Contact

ckwon@brightstarschools.org

Claire Kwon

Substitute Teacher

Contact

ckwon@brightstarschools.org

Colin
Yamashita

Teacher

Colin Yamashita

Contact

cyamashita@brightstarschools.org

Colin Yamashita

Teacher

Contact

cyamashita@brightstarschools.org

Daniel
Lee

Receptionist

Daniel Lee

Contact

dlee@brightstarschools.org

Daniel Lee

Receptionist

Contact

dlee@brightstarschools.org

David
Correa

Teacher

David Correa

Contact

dcorrea@brightstarschools.org

David Correa

Teacher

Contact

dcorrea@brightstarschools.org

Diane
Pyo

Teacher

Diane Pyo

Contact

dpyo@brightstarschools.org

Diane Pyo

Teacher

Contact

dpyo@brightstarschools.org

Emily
Cano

Temporary Counselor

Emily Cano

Contact

ecano@brightstarschools.org

Emily Cano

Temporary Counselor

Contact

ecano@brightstarschools.org

Enrico
Cosinas

Teacher

Enrico Cosinas

Contact

ecosinas@brightstarschools.org

Enrico Cosinas

Teacher

Contact

ecosinas@brightstarschools.org

Eugene
Hahn

Teacher

Eugene Hahn

Contact

ehahn@brightstarschools.org

Eugene Hahn

Teacher

Contact

ehahn@brightstarschools.org

Francesca
Barragan

Office Manager

Francesca Barragan

Contact

fbarragan@brightstarschools.org

Francesca Barragan

Office Manager

Contact

fbarragan@brightstarschools.org

Francisco
Cordova

Maintenance

Francisco Cordova

Contact

fcordova@brightstarschools.org

Francisco Cordova

Maintenance

Contact

fcordova@brightstarschools.org

Han
Park

Counselor

Han Park

Contact

hpark@brightstarschools.org

Han Park

Counselor

Contact

hpark@brightstarschools.org

Inhee
Kim

Teacher

Inhee Kim

Contact

imkim@brightstarschools.org

Inhee Kim

Teacher

Contact

imkim@brightstarschools.org

Jacqueline
Martinez Pirir

Paraprofessional

Jacqueline Martinez Pirir

Contact

jmartinezpirir@brightstarschools.org

Jacqueline Martinez Pirir

Paraprofessional

Contact

jmartinezpirir@brightstarschools.org

Karlie
Robinson

Teacher

Karlie Robinson

Contact

krobinson@brightstarschools.org

Karlie Robinson

Teacher

Contact

krobinson@brightstarschools.org

Katherine
Wong

Teacher

Katherine Wong

Contact

kwong@brightstarschools.org

Katherine Wong

Teacher

Contact

kwong@brightstarschools.org

Keben
Perez

Teacher

Keben Perez

Contact

kperez@brightstarschools.org

Keben Perez

Teacher

Contact

kperez@brightstarschools.org

Kiyana
Hendrix

Dean of Restorative Practices

Kiyana Hendrix

Contact

khendrix@brightstarschools.org

Kiyana Hendrix

Dean of Restorative Practices

Contact

khendrix@brightstarschools.org

Laura
Sandoval

Maintenance

Laura Sandoval

Contact

lsandoval@brightstarschools.org

Laura Sandoval

Maintenance

Contact

lsandoval@brightstarschools.org

Leslie
Aguillon

Senior Dean of Operations

Leslie Aguillon

Contact

laguillon@brightstarschools.org

Leslie Aguillon

Senior Dean of Operations

Contact

laguillon@brightstarschools.org

Menique
Singley

Counselor

Menique Singley

Contact

msingley@brightstarschools.org

Menique Singley

Counselor

Contact

msingley@brightstarschools.org

Miguel
Gonzalez

Campus Aide

Miguel Gonzalez

Contact

megonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Miguel Gonzalez

Campus Aide

Contact

megonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Nancy
Wagner

Teacher

Nancy Wagner

Contact

nwagner@brightstarschools.org

Nancy Wagner

Teacher

Contact

nwagner@brightstarschools.org

Natalie
Martinez

Operations Support

Natalie Martinez

Contact

nmartinez@brightstarschools.org

Natalie Martinez

Operations Support

Contact

nmartinez@brightstarschools.org

Richard
Myers

Teacher

Richard Myers

Contact

rmyers@brightstarschools.org

Richard Myers

Teacher

Contact

rmyers@brightstarschools.org

Rocio
Murillo

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Rocio Murillo

Contact

rmurillo@brightstarschools.org

Rocio Murillo

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Contact

rmurillo@brightstarschools.org

Rudy
Romero

Full Behavior Intervention Implementation Assistant

Rudy Romero

Contact

ruromero@brightstarschools.org

Rudy Romero

Full Behavior Intervention Implementation Assistant

Contact

ruromero@brightstarschools.org

Ruth
Kim

Principal, RIse Kohyang Middle School

Contact
Ruth Kim

Contact

rkim@brightstarschools.org

Ruth Kim

Principal, RIse Kohyang Middle School

Ruth Kim is the principal of Rise Kohyang Middle School, and leads the school by empowering the Phoenixes with compassion to learn and grow to give back to their own kohyang (hometown). She encourages students to achieve academic excellence and grow their unique talents so they find joy and fulfillment in higher education, career, and life.

Ruth started with RKMS in its founding year in 2012. Previously, Ruth served Rise Kohyang Middle School as Assistant Principal and an English Language Arts teacher for eight years. During that time, she was also the 6th grade-level chair and ELA department lead, and she became a National Board Certified teacher in 2018. Ruth transitioned to her principal position in 2020.

Ruth holds a bachelor’s degree in English from UC Irvine, multiple-subject and administrative credentials from Cal State Fullerton, and a master’s in educational administration from Cal State Fullerton.

Contact

rkim@brightstarschools.org

Shannon
Kim

Teacher

Shannon Kim

Contact

mkim@brightstarschools.org

Shannon Kim

Teacher

Contact

mkim@brightstarschools.org

Join Bright Star Community Today

In our small, joyful schools we provide students with excellent academics, holistic and inclusive support, personal attention, and rich life opportunities beyond the classroom so they thrive from kindergarten through high school.