22-23 School Year Information and COVID Procedures Learn More

Rise Kohyang High School

Discover Our Staff

Discover Our Staff

Afreen
Ahmed

Staff

Afreen Ahmed

Contact

Afreen Ahmed

Staff

Contact

Ajay
Ghingoor

Teacher

Ajay Ghingoor

Contact

aghingoor@brightstarschools.org

Ajay Ghingoor

Teacher

Contact

aghingoor@brightstarschools.org

Allen
Andrews

Assistant Principal of Instruction

Allen Andrews

Contact

aandrews@brightstarschools.org

Allen Andrews

Assistant Principal of Instruction

Contact

aandrews@brightstarschools.org

Allison
Horn

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Allison Horn

Contact

ahorn@brightstarschools.org

Allison Horn

Inclusion Specialist Teacher

Contact

ahorn@brightstarschools.org

Angie
Lee

Instructional Assistant

Angie Lee

Contact

ahlee@brightstarschools.org

Angie Lee

Instructional Assistant

Contact

ahlee@brightstarschools.org

Candice
Nigra

Teacher

Candice Nigra

Contact

cnigra@brightstarschools.org

Candice Nigra

Teacher

Contact

cnigra@brightstarschools.org

Cecilia
Cueva

Teacher

Cecilia Cueva

Contact

ccueva@brightstarschools.org

Cecilia Cueva

Teacher

Contact

ccueva@brightstarschools.org

Christopher
Flaherty

Teacher

Christopher Flaherty

Contact

cflaherty@brightstarschools.org

Christopher Flaherty

Teacher

Contact

cflaherty@brightstarschools.org

Claudia
Coronel Lopez

Office Manager

Claudia Coronel Lopez

Contact

cgardner@brightstarschools.org

Claudia Coronel Lopez

Office Manager

Contact

cgardner@brightstarschools.org

Claudia
Gardner

Office Manager

Claudia Gardner

Contact

cgardner@brightstarschools.org

Claudia Gardner

Office Manager

Contact

cgardner@brightstarschools.org

Curtis
Spiller

Teacher

Curtis Spiller

Contact

CSPILLER@BRIGHTSTARSCHOOLS.ORG

Curtis Spiller

Teacher

Contact

CSPILLER@BRIGHTSTARSCHOOLS.ORG

Cynthia
Trigueros

Principal, Rise Kohyang High School

Contact
Cynthia Trigueros

Contact

ctrigueros@brightstarschools.org

Cynthia Trigueros

Principal, Rise Kohyang High School

Cynthia Trigueros is the principal of Rise Kohyang High School, and she leads the Tritons to achieve academic excellence and grow their unique talents so they find joy and fulfillment in higher education, career, and life.

Cynthia has served Bright Star Schools for over 15 years. She previously served as a founding biology teacher, an assistant principal, and interim principal at Rise Kohyang High School before being named principal in 2021. Cynthia was also a founding science teacher at Rise Kohyang Middle School, where she taught for nearly six years.

Cynthia holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology from California State University, Northridge, a master of arts in bilingual elementary education from Loyola Marymount University as well as a master and credential in educational leadership and administration from California State University, Dominguez Hills.

Contact

ctrigueros@brightstarschools.org

Deana
Estrada Wu

Dean of Instruction

Deana Estrada Wu

Contact

destradawu@brightstarschools.org

Deana Estrada Wu

Dean of Instruction

Contact

destradawu@brightstarschools.org

Desirae
Dickinson

Teacher

Desirae Dickinson

Contact

ddickinson@brightstarschools.org

Desirae Dickinson

Teacher

Contact

ddickinson@brightstarschools.org

Edwin
Hernandez

Teacher

Edwin Hernandez

Contact

erhernandez@brightstarschools.org

Edwin Hernandez

Teacher

Contact

erhernandez@brightstarschools.org

Gabriela
Monje

Dean of Operations

Gabriela Monje

Contact

gmonje@brightstarschools.org

Gabriela Monje

Dean of Operations

Contact

gmonje@brightstarschools.org

Ibian
Cervantes

Teacher

Ibian Cervantes

Contact

icervantes@brightstarschools.org

Ibian Cervantes

Teacher

Contact

icervantes@brightstarschools.org

Iliana
Dorantes

Counselor

Iliana Dorantes

Contact

idorantes@brightstarschools.org

Iliana Dorantes

Counselor

Contact

idorantes@brightstarschools.org

Isaac
Nef

Teacher

Isaac Nef

Contact

inef@brightstarschools.org

Isaac Nef

Teacher

Contact

inef@brightstarschools.org

Jill
Massinger

Staff

Jill Massinger

Contact

jmassinger@brightstarschools.org

Jill Massinger

Staff

Contact

jmassinger@brightstarschools.org

Jocelynn
Velazquez

Instructional Assistant

Jocelynn Velazquez

Contact

jvelazquez@brightstarschools.org

Jocelynn Velazquez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

jvelazquez@brightstarschools.org

Johanna
Rivas

Dean of Restorative Practices

Johanna Rivas

Contact

jrivas@brightstarschools.org

Johanna Rivas

Dean of Restorative Practices

Contact

jrivas@brightstarschools.org

John
Nelson

Teacher

John Nelson

Contact

jnelson@brightstarschools.org

John Nelson

Teacher

Contact

jnelson@brightstarschools.org

Jonathan
Merrick

Teacher

Jonathan Merrick

Contact

jmerrick@brightstarschools.org

Jonathan Merrick

Teacher

Contact

jmerrick@brightstarschools.org

Kimberly
Arteaga

Alumni Support and College Success Coordinator

Kimberly Arteaga

Contact

karteaga@brightstarschools.org

Kimberly Arteaga

Alumni Support and College Success Coordinator

Contact

karteaga@brightstarschools.org

Leonardo
Vargas Ponce

Teacher

Leonardo Vargas Ponce

Contact

lponce@brightstarschools.org

Leonardo Vargas Ponce

Teacher

Contact

lponce@brightstarschools.org

Luis
Bermudez

Counselor

Luis Bermudez

Contact

lbermudez@brightstarschools.org

Luis Bermudez

Counselor

Contact

lbermudez@brightstarschools.org

Mariloli
Barcena Martinez

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Mariloli Barcena Martinez

Contact

mbarcena@brightstarschools.org

Mariloli Barcena Martinez

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

mbarcena@brightstarschools.org

Mikaela
Kelley

Teacher

Mikaela Kelley

Contact

mkelley@brightstarschools.org

Mikaela Kelley

Teacher

Contact

mkelley@brightstarschools.org

Molly
Bryan

Dean of Academic Programs

Molly Bryan

Contact

mbryan@brightstarschools.org

Molly Bryan

Dean of Academic Programs

Contact

mbryan@brightstarschools.org

Peter
Baik

Teacher

Peter Baik

Contact

pbaik@brightstarschools.org

Peter Baik

Teacher

Contact

pbaik@brightstarschools.org

Rachel
Scutti

Teacher

Rachel Scutti

Contact

rscutti@brightstarschools.org

Rachel Scutti

Teacher

Contact

rscutti@brightstarschools.org

Roberto
Franco

Associate Dean of Restorative Practices

Roberto Franco

Contact

rfranco@brightstarschools.org

Roberto Franco

Associate Dean of Restorative Practices

Contact

rfranco@brightstarschools.org

Sean
Burgess

Teacher

Sean Burgess

Contact

sburgess@brightstarschools.org

Sean Burgess

Teacher

Contact

sburgess@brightstarschools.org

Spencer
Szabo

Counselor

Spencer Szabo

Contact

sszabo@brightstarschools.org

Spencer Szabo

Counselor

Contact

sszabo@brightstarschools.org

Stephanie
Kozofsky

Assistant Principal of Culture

Stephanie Kozofsky

Contact

skozofsky@brightstarschools.org

Stephanie Kozofsky

Assistant Principal of Culture

Contact

skozofsky@brightstarschools.org

Sue
Chae

Counseling Department Chair and Grade 12 Counselor

Sue Chae

Contact

schae@brightstarschools.org

Sue Chae

Counseling Department Chair and Grade 12 Counselor

Contact

schae@brightstarschools.org

Summer
Silbart

Teacher

Summer Silbart

Contact

ssilbart@brightstarschools.org

Summer Silbart

Teacher

Contact

ssilbart@brightstarschools.org

Tae Min
Kim

Teacher

Tae Min Kim

Contact

tkim@brightstarschools.org

Tae Min Kim

Teacher

Contact

tkim@brightstarschools.org

Taek
Chang

Teacher

Taek Chang

Contact

tchang@brightstarschools.org

Taek Chang

Teacher

Contact

tchang@brightstarschools.org

Tamar
Rivera

Instructional Assistant

Tamar Rivera

Contact

trivera@brightstarschools.org

Tamar Rivera

Instructional Assistant

Contact

trivera@brightstarschools.org

Thiany
Armijo

Teacher

Thiany Armijo

Contact

tarmijo@brightstarschools.org

Thiany Armijo

Teacher

Contact

tarmijo@brightstarschools.org

Vladimir
Duran

Teacher

Vladimir Duran

Contact

vduran@brightstarschools.org

Vladimir Duran

Teacher

Contact

vduran@brightstarschools.org

Yolanda
Galeazzi

Dean of Student Activities & Athletics

Yolanda Galeazzi

Contact

ygaleazzi@brightstarschools.org

Yolanda Galeazzi

Dean of Student Activities & Athletics

Contact

ygaleazzi@brightstarschools.org

Yoseline
Crisostomo

Yoseline Crisostomo

Contact

Yoseline Crisostomo

Contact

Join Bright Star Community Today

In our small, joyful schools we provide students with excellent academics, holistic and inclusive support, personal attention, and rich life opportunities beyond the classroom so they thrive from kindergarten through high school.