22-23 School Year Information and COVID Procedures Learn More

Valor Academy High School

Discover Our Staff

Discover Our Staff

Alexis
Scott

Dean of Academic Support

Alexis Scott

Contact

ascott@brightstarschools.org

Alexis Scott

Dean of Academic Support

Contact

ascott@brightstarschools.org

Allison
Thielen

Teacher

Allison Thielen

Contact

athielen@brightstarschools.org

Allison Thielen

Teacher

Contact

athielen@brightstarschools.org

Alondra
Medina

Instructional Assistant

Alondra Medina

Contact

amedina@brightstarschools.org

Alondra Medina

Instructional Assistant

Contact

amedina@brightstarschools.org

Angel
Hernandez-Romero

Teacher

Angel Hernandez-Romero

Contact

aromero@brightstarschools.org

Angel Hernandez-Romero

Teacher

Contact

aromero@brightstarschools.org

Anne
Fleming

Teacher

Anne Fleming

Contact

afleming@brightstarschools.org

Anne Fleming

Teacher

Contact

afleming@brightstarschools.org

Benjamin
Katcher

Teacher

Benjamin Katcher

Contact

bkatcher@brightstarschools.org

Benjamin Katcher

Teacher

Contact

bkatcher@brightstarschools.org

Bryan
Aguillon

Campus Aide

Bryan Aguillon

Contact

baguillon@brightstarschools.org

Bryan Aguillon

Campus Aide

Contact

baguillon@brightstarschools.org

Carissa
Gonzalez

Teacher

Carissa Gonzalez

Contact

clgonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Carissa Gonzalez

Teacher

Contact

clgonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Christian
Sandoval

Teacher

Christian Sandoval

Contact

cmsandoval@brightstarschools.org

Christian Sandoval

Teacher

Contact

cmsandoval@brightstarschools.org

Christopher
Wellbrook

Assistant Principal of Instruction

Christopher Wellbrook

Contact

cwellbrook@brightstarschools.org

Christopher Wellbrook

Assistant Principal of Instruction

Contact

cwellbrook@brightstarschools.org

Dana
Daniels

Teacher

Dana Daniels

Contact

ddaniels@brightstarschools.org

Dana Daniels

Teacher

Contact

ddaniels@brightstarschools.org

Elijah
Falk

Teacher

Elijah Falk

Contact

efalk@brightstarschools.org

Elijah Falk

Teacher

Contact

efalk@brightstarschools.org

Elsy
Ordones Menjivar

Custodian

Elsy Ordones Menjivar

Contact

eordones@brightstarschools.org

Elsy Ordones Menjivar

Custodian

Contact

eordones@brightstarschools.org

Eric
Luna

Assistant Dean of Student Support

Eric Luna

Contact

eluna@brightstarschools.org

Eric Luna

Assistant Dean of Student Support

Contact

eluna@brightstarschools.org

Erica
Johnson

Teacher

Erica Johnson

Contact

Erica Johnson

Teacher

Contact

Evelyn
Licea

Principal, Valor Academy High School

Contact
Evelyn Licea

Contact

elicea@brightstarschools.org

Evelyn Licea

Principal, Valor Academy High School

Dr. Evelyn Licea is the founding principal of Valor Academy High School and leads a rigorous, accountable, and supportive school community where students become high achieving, self-advocating, responsible scholars engaged in their community.

Dr. Licea wanted to found and lead a high school in the community where she grew up, and she became the founding principal of Valor Academy High School in 2013.

Dr. Licea has been involved in the Los Angeles charter public school movement since 2006. As a Teach For America Corps member, she helped found a math and science high school in the community of East Los Angeles, and was a teacher for three years. She later served as an assistant principal for Alliance College-Ready Public Schools.

Dr. Licea holds a bachelor’s degree in Spanish and Chicano/a studies from UCLA, a master’s degree in secondary education, and a doctorate of education in educational leadership for social justice from Loyola Marymount University. Dr. Licea is a school board member of a charter elementary school in the city of Pacoima, and also serves as an adjunct professor at Loyola Marymount University.

Contact

elicea@brightstarschools.org

Evelyn
Moran

Counselor

Evelyn Moran

Contact

emoran@brightstarschools.org

Evelyn Moran

Counselor

Contact

emoran@brightstarschools.org

Genevie
Santiago

Instructional Assistant

Genevie Santiago

Contact

gsantiago@brightstarschools.org

Genevie Santiago

Instructional Assistant

Contact

gsantiago@brightstarschools.org

Giannina
Cardentti

Instructional Assistant

Giannina Cardentti

Contact

gcardentti@brightstarschools.org

Giannina Cardentti

Instructional Assistant

Contact

gcardentti@brightstarschools.org

Gurpreet
Kaur

Teacher

Gurpreet Kaur

Contact

gkaur@brightstarschools.org

Gurpreet Kaur

Teacher

Contact

gkaur@brightstarschools.org

Gustavo
Vaz

Teacher

Gustavo Vaz

Contact

gvaz@brightstarschools.org

Gustavo Vaz

Teacher

Contact

gvaz@brightstarschools.org

Isabel
Sanchez

Instructional Assistant

Isabel Sanchez

Contact

isanchez@brightstarschools.org

Isabel Sanchez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

isanchez@brightstarschools.org

Jecenia
Trinidad

Substitute Teacher/Administrative Support

Jecenia Trinidad

Contact

jtrinidad@brightstarschools.org

Jecenia Trinidad

Substitute Teacher/Administrative Support

Contact

jtrinidad@brightstarschools.org

Jennifer
Anaya

Assistant Principal, Valor Academy High School

Jennifer Anaya

Contact

janaya@brightstarschools.org

Jennifer Anaya

Assistant Principal, Valor Academy High School

Contact

janaya@brightstarschools.org

Jennifer
Presuel

Athletic Director/Assistant Dean of Operations

Jennifer Presuel

Contact

jpresuel@brightstarschools.org

Jennifer Presuel

Athletic Director/Assistant Dean of Operations

Contact

jpresuel@brightstarschools.org

Jesus
Flores

Dean of Restorative Practices

Jesus Flores

Contact

jflores@brightstarschools.org

Jesus Flores

Dean of Restorative Practices

Contact

jflores@brightstarschools.org

Jorge
Gonzalez

At Promise Counselor Intern

Jorge Gonzalez

Contact

jagonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Jorge Gonzalez

At Promise Counselor Intern

Contact

jagonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Judith
Elguezabal

Lead Campus Aide/Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Judith Elguezabal

Contact

jelguezabal@brightstarschools.org

Judith Elguezabal

Lead Campus Aide/Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

jelguezabal@brightstarschools.org

Karisa
Torres

Instructional Assistant

Karisa Torres

Contact

ktorres@brightstarschools.org

Karisa Torres

Instructional Assistant

Contact

ktorres@brightstarschools.org

Kevin
Pena Bustillo

Instructional Assistant

Kevin Pena Bustillo

Contact

kpenabustillo@brightstarschools.org

Kevin Pena Bustillo

Instructional Assistant

Contact

kpenabustillo@brightstarschools.org

Kristin
Shaw

Teacher

Kristin Shaw

Contact

kshaw@brightstarschools.org

Kristin Shaw

Teacher

Contact

kshaw@brightstarschools.org

Kyle
Petrie

Coordinator, Alumni Support and College Success

Contact
Kyle Petrie

Contact

kpetrie@brightstarschools.org

Kyle Petrie

Coordinator, Alumni Support and College Success

Supporting: VAHS Class of 2017-2022 (4-Year Colleges & Universities)

Kyle Petrie has worked in urban public education for over 12 years. He initially entered the field as a high school history teacher in the Bronx, NY, as part of Teach For America. After his time in New York, Kyle spent seven years as an AP teacher, advisor, coach, and Director of Alumni Support at Gary Comer College Prep on Chicago's south side.

As the ASCS Coordinator at Valor Academy High School, Kyle's primary responsibilities revolve around ensuring that all Valor alumni receive adequate support with the financial, academic, and social-emotional concerns that they face while pursuing higher education. Kyle is primarily motivated by the belief that higher education is the foundation that will allow our students to be successful and happy in both their careers and personal lives.

 

Contact

kpetrie@brightstarschools.org

Lauren
Albi

Teacher

Lauren Albi

Contact

lalbi@brightstarschools.org

Lauren Albi

Teacher

Contact

lalbi@brightstarschools.org

Laurie
Singer

Office Manager

Laurie Singer

Contact

lsinger@brightstarschools.org

Laurie Singer

Office Manager

Contact

lsinger@brightstarschools.org

Lori
Cook

Campus Aide

Lori Cook

Contact

ljcook@brightstarschools.org

Lori Cook

Campus Aide

Contact

ljcook@brightstarschools.org

Marcus
Greetis

Marcus Greetis

Contact

Marcus Greetis

Contact

Maria
Cordova

Custodian

Maria Cordova

Contact

mcordova@brightstarschools.org

Maria Cordova

Custodian

Contact

mcordova@brightstarschools.org

Matthew
Gonzalez

Teacher

Matthew Gonzalez

Contact

mgonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Matthew Gonzalez

Teacher

Contact

mgonzalez@brightstarschools.org

Melanie
Garrett

Teacher

Melanie Garrett

Contact

mgarrett@brightstarschools.org

Melanie Garrett

Teacher

Contact

mgarrett@brightstarschools.org

Michelle
Arras

Teacher

Michelle Arras

Contact

marras@brightstarschools.org

Michelle Arras

Teacher

Contact

marras@brightstarschools.org

Mildred
Fernandez

Teacher

Mildred Fernandez

Contact

mfernandez@brightstarschools.org

Mildred Fernandez

Teacher

Contact

mfernandez@brightstarschools.org

Mitchell
Stern

Teacher

Mitchell Stern

Contact

mstern@brightstarschools.org

Mitchell Stern

Teacher

Contact

mstern@brightstarschools.org

Patricia
Chavez

Dean of Operations

Patricia Chavez

Contact

pchavez@brightstarschools.org

Patricia Chavez

Dean of Operations

Contact

pchavez@brightstarschools.org

Perla
Lepore

Counselor

Perla Lepore

Contact

plepore@brightstarschools.org

Perla Lepore

Counselor

Contact

plepore@brightstarschools.org

Ryan
Sexton

Teacher

Ryan Sexton

Contact

rsexton@brightstarschools.org

Ryan Sexton

Teacher

Contact

rsexton@brightstarschools.org

Shelby
Ramminger

Teacher

Shelby Ramminger

Contact

sramminger@brightstarschools.org

Shelby Ramminger

Teacher

Contact

sramminger@brightstarschools.org

Shonice
Latimer

Instructional Assistant

Shonice Latimer

Contact

slatimerhale@brightstarschools.org

Shonice Latimer

Instructional Assistant

Contact

slatimerhale@brightstarschools.org

Stephanie
Bernache

Office Assistant

Stephanie Bernache

Contact

sbernache@brightstarschools.org

Stephanie Bernache

Office Assistant

Contact

sbernache@brightstarschools.org

Tisha
Bernard

Dean of Restorative Practices

Tisha Bernard

Contact

tbernard@brightstarschools.org

Tisha Bernard

Dean of Restorative Practices

Contact

tbernard@brightstarschools.org

Victor
Lee

Assistant Principal of Instruction

Victor Lee

Contact

vlee@brightstarschools.org

Victor Lee

Assistant Principal of Instruction

Contact

vlee@brightstarschools.org

Yesenia
Roa

Teacher

Yesenia Roa

Contact

yroa@brightstarschools.org

Yesenia Roa

Teacher

Contact

yroa@brightstarschools.org

Yogeshwari
Patel

Teacher

Yogeshwari Patel

Contact

ypatel@brightstarschools.org

Yogeshwari Patel

Teacher

Contact

ypatel@brightstarschools.org

Youngkwang
Jew

Teacher

Youngkwang Jew

Contact

yjew@brightstarschools.org

Youngkwang Jew

Teacher

Contact

yjew@brightstarschools.org

Join Bright Star Community Today

In our small, joyful schools we provide students with excellent academics, holistic and inclusive support, personal attention, and rich life opportunities beyond the classroom so they thrive from kindergarten through high school.