22-23 School Year Information and COVID Procedures Learn More

Valor Academy Elementary School

Discover Our Staff

Discover Our Staff

Adriana
De La Cruz

Instructional Assistant

Adriana De La Cruz

Contact

acruz@brightstarschools.org

Adriana De La Cruz

Instructional Assistant

Contact

acruz@brightstarschools.org

Adriana
Padilla Perez

Instructional Assistant

Adriana Padilla Perez

Contact

apadilla@brightstarschools.org

Adriana Padilla Perez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

apadilla@brightstarschools.org

Alejandra
Cruz

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Alejandra Cruz

Contact

accruz@brightstarschools.org

Alejandra Cruz

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

accruz@brightstarschools.org

Amy
Weng

ELD Interventionist

Amy Weng

Contact

aweng@brightstarschools.org

Amy Weng

ELD Interventionist

Contact

aweng@brightstarschools.org

Anahi
Perez

Teacher

Anahi Perez

Contact

aperez@brightstarschools.org

Anahi Perez

Teacher

Contact

aperez@brightstarschools.org

Angelica
Hernandez

Instructional Assistant

Angelica Hernandez

Contact

ahernandez@brightstarschools.org

Angelica Hernandez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

ahernandez@brightstarschools.org

Anna
Hagen

Teacher

Anna Hagen

Contact

ahagen@brightstarschools.org

Anna Hagen

Teacher

Contact

ahagen@brightstarschools.org

April Joy
De Vera

Teacher

April Joy De Vera

Contact

ajdevera@brightstarschools.org

April Joy De Vera

Teacher

Contact

ajdevera@brightstarschools.org

Ayesha
Jannat

Instructional Assistant

Ayesha Jannat

Contact

ajannat@brightstarschools.org

Ayesha Jannat

Instructional Assistant

Contact

ajannat@brightstarschools.org

Bryan
Oey

Dean of Behavior Support

Bryan Oey

Contact

boey@brightstarschools.org

Bryan Oey

Dean of Behavior Support

Contact

boey@brightstarschools.org

Carlos
Somoza

Gardening and Cooking Coordinator

Carlos Somoza

Contact

csomoza@brightstarschools.org

Carlos Somoza

Gardening and Cooking Coordinator

Contact

csomoza@brightstarschools.org

Catlyn
Preffer

Teacher

Catlyn Preffer

Contact

cpreffer@brightstarschools.org

Catlyn Preffer

Teacher

Contact

cpreffer@brightstarschools.org

Chia-Hsuan
Weng

ELD Interventionist

Chia-Hsuan Weng

Contact

aweng@brightstarschools.org

Chia-Hsuan Weng

ELD Interventionist

Contact

aweng@brightstarschools.org

Deysi
Menjivar

Instructional Assistant

Deysi Menjivar

Contact

dmenjivar@brightstarschools.org

Deysi Menjivar

Instructional Assistant

Contact

dmenjivar@brightstarschools.org

Elizabeth
Witt

Teacher

Elizabeth Witt

Contact

ewitt@brightstarschools.org

Elizabeth Witt

Teacher

Contact

ewitt@brightstarschools.org

Elyssa
Arroyo

Teacher

Elyssa Arroyo

Contact

earroyo@brightstarschools.org

Elyssa Arroyo

Teacher

Contact

earroyo@brightstarschools.org

Emma
Bideau

Instructional Interventionist

Emma Bideau

Contact

ebideau@brightstarschools.org

Emma Bideau

Instructional Interventionist

Contact

ebideau@brightstarschools.org

Esmeralda
Reynaga

Instructional Assistant

Esmeralda Reynaga

Contact

ereynaga@brightstarschools.org

Esmeralda Reynaga

Instructional Assistant

Contact

ereynaga@brightstarschools.org

Everly
Rodriguez

Behavioral Interventionist

Everly Rodriguez

Contact

enrodriguez@brightstarschools.org

Everly Rodriguez

Behavioral Interventionist

Contact

enrodriguez@brightstarschools.org

Gabriel
Torres

Interim PE Teacher

Gabriel Torres

Contact

gtorres@brightstarschools.org

Gabriel Torres

Interim PE Teacher

Contact

gtorres@brightstarschools.org

Grisel
Guillen

Instructional Assistant

Grisel Guillen

Contact

gguillen@brightstarschools.org

Grisel Guillen

Instructional Assistant

Contact

gguillen@brightstarschools.org

Heather
Garnica

Teacher

Heather Garnica

Contact

hgarnica@brightstarschools.org

Heather Garnica

Teacher

Contact

hgarnica@brightstarschools.org

Isabel
Cuevas

Instructional Assistant

Isabel Cuevas

Contact

icuevas@brightstarschools.org

Isabel Cuevas

Instructional Assistant

Contact

icuevas@brightstarschools.org

Jacqueline
Valenzuela

Teacher

Jacqueline Valenzuela

Contact

jvalenzuela@brightstarschools.org

Jacqueline Valenzuela

Teacher

Contact

jvalenzuela@brightstarschools.org

Janelle
Beck

Teacher

Janelle Beck

Contact

jbeck@brightstarschools.org

Janelle Beck

Teacher

Contact

jbeck@brightstarschools.org

Jennifer
Ahn

Teacher

Jennifer Ahn

Contact

jahn@brightstarschools.org

Jennifer Ahn

Teacher

Contact

jahn@brightstarschools.org

Jessica
Lozano

Instructional Assistant

Jessica Lozano

Contact

jlozano@brightstarschools.org

Jessica Lozano

Instructional Assistant

Contact

jlozano@brightstarschools.org

Jessica
Sorto

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Jessica Sorto

Contact

jsorto@brightstarschools.org

Jessica Sorto

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

jsorto@brightstarschools.org

Joselynee
Marquez

Campus Aide

Joselynee Marquez

Contact

jmarquez@brightstarschools.org

Joselynee Marquez

Campus Aide

Contact

jmarquez@brightstarschools.org

Juliana
Christakis

Instructional Assistant

Juliana Christakis

Contact

jchristakis@brightstarschools.org

Juliana Christakis

Instructional Assistant

Contact

jchristakis@brightstarschools.org

Kimberly
Anaya

Campus Aide

Kimberly Anaya

Contact

kanaya@brightstarschools.org

Kimberly Anaya

Campus Aide

Contact

kanaya@brightstarschools.org

Lacey
Bianco

Teacher

Lacey Bianco

Contact

lbianco@brightstarschools.org

Lacey Bianco

Teacher

Contact

lbianco@brightstarschools.org

Laura
Ahumada

Teacher

Laura Ahumada

Contact

lahumada@brightstarschools.org

Laura Ahumada

Teacher

Contact

lahumada@brightstarschools.org

Linda
Cruz

Campus Aide

Linda Cruz

Contact

lvcruz@brightstarschools.org

Linda Cruz

Campus Aide

Contact

lvcruz@brightstarschools.org

Lourena
Uribe

Counselor

Lourena Uribe

Contact

luribe@brightstarschools.org

Lourena Uribe

Counselor

Contact

luribe@brightstarschools.org

Margarita
Reynoso

Instructional Assistant

Margarita Reynoso

Contact

mreynoso@brightstarschools.org

Margarita Reynoso

Instructional Assistant

Contact

mreynoso@brightstarschools.org

Maribel
Carmona

Senior Director of Elementary Instruction

Maribel Carmona

Contact

mflores@brightstarschools.org

Maribel Carmona

Senior Director of Elementary Instruction

Contact

mflores@brightstarschools.org

Martin
Meneses Ramirez

Custodian

Martin Meneses Ramirez

Contact

vmeneses@brightstarschools.org

Martin Meneses Ramirez

Custodian

Contact

vmeneses@brightstarschools.org

May
Oey

Principal, Valor Academy Elementary School

Contact
May Oey

Contact

moey@brightstarschools.org

May Oey

Principal, Valor Academy Elementary School

May Oey is the founding principal of Valor Academy Elementary School, and she leads the school’s dynamic community to cultivate an environment where students achieve and believe in themselves and their school.

May has dedicated her entire life to educating students. Prior to joining Bright Star Schools, she served in various roles in education throughout the Los Angeles area for 11 years. As a school leader for a local charter public school, May learned a great deal about running and implementing successful school programs as well as maintaining a healthy and happy school community.

Previously, May taught for nine years, including teaching 3rd and 4th grades for three years in Hollywood, where her school was recognized as the highest performing school in Hollywood.

May holds a bachelor’s degree in sociology from UCLA, a master’s degree in elementary education and teaching from Pepperdine University, and a credential in educational leadership and administration from California State University, Dominguez Hills.

Contact

moey@brightstarschools.org

Megan
Carpenter

Teacher

Megan Carpenter

Contact

mcarpenter@brightstarschools.org

Megan Carpenter

Teacher

Contact

mcarpenter@brightstarschools.org

Melissa
Ignacio

Counselor

Melissa Ignacio

Contact

mignacio@brightstarschools.org

Melissa Ignacio

Counselor

Contact

mignacio@brightstarschools.org

Nancy
Jimenez

Teacher

Nancy Jimenez

Contact

njimenez@brightstarschools.org

Nancy Jimenez

Teacher

Contact

njimenez@brightstarschools.org

Natalie
Wollaston

Office Manager

Natalie Wollaston

Contact

nwollaston@brightstarschools.org

Natalie Wollaston

Office Manager

Contact

nwollaston@brightstarschools.org

Perla
Tejada

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Perla Tejada

Contact

ptejada@brightstarschools.org

Perla Tejada

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

ptejada@brightstarschools.org

Perla
Velasquez

Teacher

Perla Velasquez

Contact

pvelasquez@brightstarschools.org

Perla Velasquez

Teacher

Contact

pvelasquez@brightstarschools.org

Rebecca
Cabrera

Teacher

Rebecca Cabrera

Contact

rcabrera@brightstarschools.org

Rebecca Cabrera

Teacher

Contact

rcabrera@brightstarschools.org

Rosie
Somoundjian

Lead Instructional Assistant

Rosie Somoundjian

Contact

rsomoundjian@brightstarschools.org

Rosie Somoundjian

Lead Instructional Assistant

Contact

rsomoundjian@brightstarschools.org

Rylie
Carlin

Behavior Implementation Interventionist/Instructional Assistant

Rylie Carlin

Contact

rcarlin@brightstarschools.org

Rylie Carlin

Behavior Implementation Interventionist/Instructional Assistant

Contact

rcarlin@brightstarschools.org

Sandra
Moreno

Custodian

Sandra Moreno

Contact

smoreno@brightstarschools.org

Sandra Moreno

Custodian

Contact

smoreno@brightstarschools.org

Scott
Fleming

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Scott Fleming

Contact

sfleming@brightstarschools.org

Scott Fleming

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

sfleming@brightstarschools.org

Sharlot
Colmenarez Fernandez

Campus Aide

Sharlot Colmenarez Fernandez

Contact

scolmenarez@brightstarschools.org

Sharlot Colmenarez Fernandez

Campus Aide

Contact

scolmenarez@brightstarschools.org

Susana
Hernandez Garcia

Instructional Assistant

Susana Hernandez Garcia

Contact

shernandez@brightstarschools.org

Susana Hernandez Garcia

Instructional Assistant

Contact

shernandez@brightstarschools.org

Susanna
Kang

Long-Term Substitute Teacher

Susanna Kang

Contact

skang@brightstarschools.org

Susanna Kang

Long-Term Substitute Teacher

Contact

skang@brightstarschools.org

Talar
Samuelian

Assistant Principal of Culture

Talar Samuelian

Contact

tsamuelian@brightstarschools.org

Talar Samuelian

Assistant Principal of Culture

Contact

tsamuelian@brightstarschools.org

Thalia
Gallegos Ruan

Office Assistant/Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Thalia Gallegos Ruan

Contact

tgallegos@brightstarschools.org

Thalia Gallegos Ruan

Office Assistant/Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

tgallegos@brightstarschools.org

Valene
Molina

Dean of Operations

Valene Molina

Contact

vmolina@brightstarschools.org

Valene Molina

Dean of Operations

Contact

vmolina@brightstarschools.org

Valeria
Herrera

Instructional Assistant

Valeria Herrera

Contact

vherrera@brightstarschools.org

Valeria Herrera

Instructional Assistant

Contact

vherrera@brightstarschools.org

Vartan
Gasparian

Teacher

Vartan Gasparian

Contact

vgasparian@brightstarschools.org

Vartan Gasparian

Teacher

Contact

vgasparian@brightstarschools.org

Veronica
Hurley

Enrichment Teacher

Veronica Hurley

Contact

vhurley@brightstarschools.org

Veronica Hurley

Enrichment Teacher

Contact

vhurley@brightstarschools.org

Join Bright Star Community Today

In our small, joyful schools we provide students with excellent academics, holistic and inclusive support, personal attention, and rich life opportunities beyond the classroom so they thrive from kindergarten through high school.