22-23 School Year Information and COVID Procedures Learn More

Stella Elementary Charter Academy

Discover Our Staff

Discover Our Staff

Alexandra
Hernandez

Teacher

Alexandra Hernandez

Contact

Alexandra Hernandez

Teacher

Contact

Alexis
Thompson

Counselor

Alexis Thompson

Contact

athompson@brightstarschools.org

Alexis Thompson

Counselor

Contact

athompson@brightstarschools.org

Amalia
Zayas

Counselor

Amalia Zayas

Contact

aszayas@brightstarschools.org

Amalia Zayas

Counselor

Contact

aszayas@brightstarschools.org

Araceli
Alvarado

Maintenance

Araceli Alvarado

Contact

aalvarado@brightstarschools.org

Araceli Alvarado

Maintenance

Contact

aalvarado@brightstarschools.org

Arlene
Rivera

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Arlene Rivera

Contact

arivera@brightstarschools.org

Arlene Rivera

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

arivera@brightstarschools.org

Brandy
Noble

Teacher

Brandy Noble

Contact

bnoble@brightstarschools.org

Brandy Noble

Teacher

Contact

bnoble@brightstarschools.org

Brea
Taylor

Instructional Assistant

Brea Taylor

Contact

btaylor@brightstarschools.org

Brea Taylor

Instructional Assistant

Contact

btaylor@brightstarschools.org

Brianna
Alcocer

Teacher

Brianna Alcocer

Contact

blalcocer@brightstarschools.org

Brianna Alcocer

Teacher

Contact

blalcocer@brightstarschools.org

Ciro
Zavala

Maintenance

Ciro Zavala

Contact

czavala@brightstarschools.org

Ciro Zavala

Maintenance

Contact

czavala@brightstarschools.org

Claudia
Cortez

Instructional Assistant

Claudia Cortez

Contact

cacortez@brightstarschools.org

Claudia Cortez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

cacortez@brightstarschools.org

Danielle
Starr

Teacher

Danielle Starr

Contact

dstarr@brightstarschools.org

Danielle Starr

Teacher

Contact

dstarr@brightstarschools.org

Dayna
Rosso

Teacher

Dayna Rosso

Contact

drosso@brightstarschools.org

Dayna Rosso

Teacher

Contact

drosso@brightstarschools.org

Desiree
Escobar

Teacher

Desiree Escobar

Contact

descobar@brightstarschools.org

Desiree Escobar

Teacher

Contact

descobar@brightstarschools.org

Eric
Rodriguez

Dean of Operations

Eric Rodriguez

Contact

erodriguez@brightstarschools.org

Eric Rodriguez

Dean of Operations

Contact

erodriguez@brightstarschools.org

Fredy
Aguilar

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Fredy Aguilar

Contact

faguilar@brightstarschools.org

Fredy Aguilar

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

faguilar@brightstarschools.org

Gabriela
Esparza

Dean of Operations

Gabriela Esparza

Contact

gesparza@brightstarschools.org

Gabriela Esparza

Dean of Operations

Contact

gesparza@brightstarschools.org

Gene
Castro

Principal, Stella Elementary Charter Academy

Contact
Gene Castro

Contact

gcastro@brightstarschools.org

Gene Castro

Principal, Stella Elementary Charter Academy

At Stella Elementary Charter Academy (SECA), Gene Castro leads the school to ensure all Lionesses achieve academic excellence and grow their unique talents so that they find joy and fulfillment in higher education, career, and life. His mission is that SECA students are able to build a strong foundation in literacy, mathematical practice, social-emotional competencies, and social justice education before continuing onto middle school.

Previously, Gene served Bright Star Schools as Stella Elementary’s Assistant Principal of Instruction. Under his leadership, Stella Elementary improved its English Language Development program and increased the English learner reclassification rate from 1% to 14%. The school also launched its first after-school tutoring program for students with the highest academic needs.

Prior to joining Bright Star Schools, Gene joined Teach For America and taught upper elementary on the East Coast. During this time, he received training on leadership and coaching, and eventually served as a Corps Member Advisor at the Teach For America National Philadelphia Institute. In 2015, he helped found a charter school in South Los Angeles where he served as a classroom teacher and then Dean of Culture. He holds a Bachelor's degree in international/global studies from UC Santa Barbara and a Master’s degree in elementary education from Wilmington University.

Contact

gcastro@brightstarschools.org

Hector
Contreras

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Hector Contreras

Contact

hcontreras@brightstarschools.org

Hector Contreras

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

hcontreras@brightstarschools.org

Jackeline
Guzman

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Jackeline Guzman

Contact

jguzman@brightstarschools.org

Jackeline Guzman

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

jguzman@brightstarschools.org

Jeannette
Gomez

Campus Aide

Jeannette Gomez

Contact

jgomez@brightstarschools.org

Jeannette Gomez

Campus Aide

Contact

jgomez@brightstarschools.org

Jessica
De Luna

Dean of Instruction

Jessica De Luna

Contact

jdeluna@brightstarschools.org

Jessica De Luna

Dean of Instruction

Contact

jdeluna@brightstarschools.org

Jessica
Mariano

Instructional Assistant

Jessica Mariano

Contact

jmariano@brightstarschools.org

Jessica Mariano

Instructional Assistant

Contact

jmariano@brightstarschools.org

Josefina
Martinez

Teacher

Josefina Martinez

Contact

jmartinez@brightstarschools.org

Josefina Martinez

Teacher

Contact

jmartinez@brightstarschools.org

Juan
Rodriguez

Instructional Assistant

Juan Rodriguez

Contact

jrrodriguez@brightstarschools.org

Juan Rodriguez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

jrrodriguez@brightstarschools.org

Julissa
Poz

Instructional Assistant

Julissa Poz

Contact

jpoz@brightstarschools.org

Julissa Poz

Instructional Assistant

Contact

jpoz@brightstarschools.org

Kassandra
Arreola

Teacher

Kassandra Arreola

Contact

karreola@brightstarschools.org

Kassandra Arreola

Teacher

Contact

karreola@brightstarschools.org

Kayla
Lindstedt

Teacher

Kayla Lindstedt

Contact

klindstedt@brightstarschools.org

Kayla Lindstedt

Teacher

Contact

klindstedt@brightstarschools.org

Kaylen
Matthews

Campus Aide

Kaylen Matthews

Contact

kmathews@brightstarschools.org

Kaylen Matthews

Campus Aide

Contact

kmathews@brightstarschools.org

Leslie
De Quiroz

Teacher

Leslie De Quiroz

Contact

lquiroz@brightstarschools.org

Leslie De Quiroz

Teacher

Contact

lquiroz@brightstarschools.org

Leslie
Jimenez

Instructional Assistant

Leslie Jimenez

Contact

ljimenez@brightstarschools.org

Leslie Jimenez

Instructional Assistant

Contact

ljimenez@brightstarschools.org

Leslly
Avendano

Teacher

Leslly Avendano

Contact

lsavendano@brightstarschools.org

Leslly Avendano

Teacher

Contact

lsavendano@brightstarschools.org

Leydi
Rivas

Teacher

Leydi Rivas

Contact

lrivas@brightstarschools.org

Leydi Rivas

Teacher

Contact

lrivas@brightstarschools.org

Magda
Solis

Paraprofessional

Magda Solis

Contact

msolis@brightstarschools.org

Magda Solis

Paraprofessional

Contact

msolis@brightstarschools.org

Melissa
Pershing

Teacher

Melissa Pershing

Contact

mpershing@brightstarschools.org

Melissa Pershing

Teacher

Contact

mpershing@brightstarschools.org

Miguel
Espinoza

Assistant Principal

Miguel Espinoza

Contact

mespinoza@brightstarschools.org

Miguel Espinoza

Assistant Principal

Contact

mespinoza@brightstarschools.org

Rosa
Nava

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Rosa Nava

Contact

rnava@brightstarschools.org

Rosa Nava

Behavior Implementation Interventionist

Contact

rnava@brightstarschools.org

Join Bright Star Community Today

In our small, joyful schools we provide students with excellent academics, holistic and inclusive support, personal attention, and rich life opportunities beyond the classroom so they thrive from kindergarten through high school.